top of page

Ray of Sunshine with Spina Bifida


Twenty percent of our population on earth has a disability. I am one of the twenty percent. Disability is a broad term. It can be physical, mental, developmental, sensory, cognitive. Many people with disabilities have more than one, and many disabilities have complications stemming from their disability. I have a physical disability, Spina Bifida. It's a birth defect that doctors now detect in utero and combat it with fetal surgery. I am in a wheelchair. Those pretty sweet ones that they now consider "prosthetics" I am almost as old as the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. That act saved my life. It gave my parents hope when the doctor told them to let me die. I am not a parent yet, but I know that becoming a parent is hard. I know from what my parents tell me what it was like advocating for me when I was younger that society is evolving quickly. I am often looked at as fragile and broken, but my parents NEVER let me think that way. I am not broken, I live life a different way than others. When I first went to school, my elementary school did not have power assisted doors, and I took the chance to learn how to open a door for myself. I am very independent. I credit a lot to my parents and my elementary school for my independence even in the late 90's, when people with disabilities just started assimilating into society. Independence became my goal. In my mind, my independence turned into "What else can I do?" Every judgement a person with a disability faces, I did the opposite. I tested ahead of my peers in multiple subjects, I found a way to carry my own lunch tray, participate in gym, play musical instruments - I felt normal. I am normal. I remember being in trouble for not doing homework, getting a "talking to" when I said I didn't want to be in a school recital, they treated me like a human. It helped my self confidence, I believe.

 

" Life is Good "

 

In the end, being a kid with a disability is normal. I grew up with a lot of independence and "normalcy". I give many thanks to my parents, because I know it is an extra love to advocate for your child. But your reward is a child who has self confidence and can advocate for themselves. I own TWO businesses, live on my own, have my own life. I credit my parents (and my step parents) for the life they let me create, even when with a bleak outlook. I love them so much for the chance for me to be a person, and advocate for myself, the positivity they teach and I live my life with that mindset. Life is good.

 
Samm West

About the Author: Samm West is a 25 year old entrepreneur; who owns two businesses; an advocacy blog, and a virtual assistance business. She blogs about her life with a disability and speaks up for others who cannot advocate for themselves. Samm loves the color yellow, music of all kinds, and summer. You can find more of her blogs here

 

Spina Bifida Resources: Spina Bifida is a congenital malformation (birth defect) in which there is something wrong with the bone in the vertebral column, exposing the spinal cord which should be protected within the vertebral column. Spina bifida is caused by the incomplete closing of the embryonic neural tube. (Source: www.medicalnewstoday.com) Spina Bifida Association Spina Bifida CDC Free Materials Kids Health


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page